¡Feliz año nuevo!

Hola todos:)

Hope you’re all doing well and had a great Christmas break. I got to go back for a couple weeks and now I’m missing Irn Bru:(

I realise you guys might be doing exams or assessments like I am so I’ll keep this short and provide a little information of how Spanish exams are and what it’s currently like in Spain.

In all honesty, I’ve found the exams really frustrating due to the massive difference in how exams are scored. Most are multiple choice but if you get an answer wrong, they take off 0,25 from the final score. I find this completely different from the Scottish teaching method where they encourage to ‘give it a go.’

Apart from the stressful exams, it’s also really cold. So cold that there’s been hail and snow! They both melted away quickly but it’s super super cold. With all of this together, you can imagine how miserable I’m feeling right now.

Está nevando🌨️

I’m currently busy studying so I don’t have a lot to tell you guys. But if you have the time, I’m free to answer questions or note down some suggestions for what you might want to see in the next post.

Salud,

Marnie:)

2 thoughts on “¡Feliz año nuevo!

  1. Hola Marnie,
    ¡Buena suerte! with your exams.
    It is very cold in Scotland: wet and windy!
    We have celebrated Languages Week Scotland this week: we made posters with the word ‘PEACE’ in different languages, we did a quiz on languages around the world, we did tongue twisters in French, Spanish and German.
    ‘El bébé bebe bebidas con burbujas’

    We would like to know which subjects you did at school in S5/S6.
    We learnt about the Almond festival in February and the Carnavals. Have you been to any of those ?
    Hasta pronto,
    S3 pupils 🙂

    Like

    1. Hola chic@s,

      It’s still cold in Spain, but I feel it getting a bit warmer. Sounds like you had fun learning about other languages. I’ve done this before, as my course at Napier is Languages and Intercultural Communication. I’ve had the chance to study German and Mandarin! I have also never heard of that tongue twister before, and it was fun to try it out for myself. Turns out I’m pretty good at it:)

      In S5 I studied 5 Highers: español, inglés, matemáticas, biología Humana y química.
      And in S6, I studied 3 Highers: arte y diseño, música y tecnología sanitaria y alimentaria.
      I also did one Advanced Higher in Inglés.

      Hopefully you know all of these subjects. And I realise you may be wondering, “Why would you choose to study languages but not take any in 6th year?” Well, I didn’t realise I was going to study languages till I went to apply for universities. Hopefully you guys are getting on well in thinking about what you’ll choose to study. Hopefully Spanish???

      Salud,

      Marnie

      Like

Leave a comment